Monday, December 24, 2007

NO% more shopping hours as Tesco Lie AGAIN?

Tesco has been advertising on tv, in the press, and in my local metro store (corner shop) that some of their big “Extra” stores will be open from 1 minute past midnight today. What a great idea - do the Christmas food shopping without the crowds. (The opening times are here).

So I and about 60 people turned up at the ISLEWORTH EXTRA and guess what ?

The security guard looked a bit confused and slightly nervous. He stated that there was no-one in the store, and it would not be opening until 10AM. He advised we try the nearest Extra store at Osterley. And guess what?

There wasn’t even a securituy guard there.

So all my Christmas food and booze shopping will be done at Sainsbury’s – this year and every year from now on.

Every little helps – my arse.

Wednesday, December 19, 2007

Dare You Feed Baby Tesco Yoghurts?

I was looking for the address of Tesco's head office on the Internet and thought that this may also be something which you could post on your blog.

I visited the Oystermouth Swansea store on the 5th December to buy some Petits Filous yoghurts for my 9 month old daughter. When I picked up the yoghurt pack it was dated 22nd November. All other yoghurts items on the shelf were also 2 weeks out of date. Presumably people had been buying these out of date yoghurts. These are popular first yoghurts for babies and new mothers buy them because they presume they are healthy for their children but it could have made a baby really sick. I went to the customer service desk to inform the attendant who wrote ‘Petits Filous’ on a scrap of paper . I have no idea if these yoghurts were ever removed from the shelf.

Unfortunately, when I mentioned this to other mothers they also commented that it wasn’t the first time and that they had regularly seen items several weeks past the use by dates still on the shelves. This has now put me off continuing to shop at Tesco and I feel so strongly about the harm this could do to young babies that I will go to any length to make others aware of the poor quality and stock control mechanisms operating at Tesco.

Tesco Revile Me!

I am writing to express my complete revulsion for this Company I have worked at for a number of years now. (And still do unfortunately). Slowly, and surely, the Tesco Empire has grown and grown into this monster that cannot be tamed. It's rapidly consuming our island's land and swallowing up small businesses. Ok, so it's a company that is performing well. Fair play.... but the fact is, it isnt FAIR play... obviously coming at a price...

Every day I feel more and more contempt for the behaviour of this company. When I first joined, it was an average British Supermarket. Now, it's agressive approach is hidden behind fabricated PR slogans and friendly fonts, adverts, etc etc. Caring for the Environment with Green Clubcard schemes, degradable packaging and flowers that have travelled by air - Everything is so la de dah in Tesco's eyes.... NOT in the Staff's eyes it is NOT.

I used to like working for Tesco. But feel I cannot anymore. It used to be such a nice place to come to work and there was a nice atmosphere and Customer Service was excellent. Now, for Checkout staff it is about Fast Scan Rates, High Throughput rates, Low Idle times, low Tender times, max Clubcard/Customer rates.... How can we deliver good customer service when the goal is to PUSH our customers through so that Tesco can cash up quick?? - Why say our performance is 'Crap' in front of Customers when we are supposedly trying to give ECOH - 'Every Customer Offered Help?????!!! Total Lunacy and humilation.... The attitudes of most managers are appalling. They dont have a clue how to deal with customers. Nor do they care. Good 'One in front' rates and their wage is all they care about.

Secondly, our job has become more and more stressful and un necessarily difficult. The removal of the Void Key has meant that we feel completely distrusted and frustrated everytime a Team Leader fails to come down, EVERYTIME a customer decides to no longer want a product.

Thirdly, the equipment is TERRIBLE. It appears that the Tills run on ancient Windows 95 (or older) software ... they always freeze/crash. Scales barely work, chip and pin reader buttons fall out and broken chairs. They Tesco Value or something?!?! Is this what your staff really deserve as we RAKE in your BILLIONS? For goodness sake Tesco. Wake up. YOUR STAFF WANT TO ACTUALLY GIVE GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE HERE. Even though you may like to fob them off with excuses....

We are left to deal with the fallout of every eventuality. (i.e. abuse from Customers). We DO care about our customers but the Managers DONT. WE CARE when customers have to wait but the MANAGERS dont and supervisors never come. Managers speak to Customers very rudely and we are left feeling embarrassed and feeling sorry for the Customers for their disgraceful lack of concern for customer's needs. If it wasn't for them then their wage packet wouldn't be paid.

There are TOO MANY CHIEFS AND NOT ENOUGH INDIANS at Tesco. Far too many people huddling round a little podium doing nothing except banter and phaff around. Come on, if Tesco has such high standards then why is it employing these people?

1. WHY IS IT you get a disciplinary when you have one day off SICK?
And why are our holidays always refused, yet we always help you out with Overtime??!!!
2. WHY do you not collect put backs from customers at ends of tills
and put them back? (i.e. Frozen products/ meat). Holding them to
see if they are cold still to put back on the shelf is UNACCEPTABLE !!!
3. PRICES - Why are they so high? Why have you cut back giving time and a half to new employees on Sundays - Why have you failed to give compensation to your staff that have had serious injuries at work?
(I have heard the story or two).
4. TIGHT - That, they are. New Clubcard reciept policy. Can only redeem points within 14 days from reciepts, and 2 at a time. Also they do not pay for our xmas parties. etc. They also cut back pay from packet from unfair clock in times. Every penny helps....

- I appreciate Tesco is a business but this is a business that has been making lives difficult for not only producers but its own staff. Tesco must seriously sort these issues out ! Before the media gloss backfires! New Slogan should be: Tesco. You shop, We Stress.

Tesco Still Don't Like Disabled People?

hi just felt i had to put my case on this site, i'm disabled i have cerabal palsey which has left me with muscle spasms in my back weak muscles in my legs and mobility problems. i started working for tesco in 1994 as checkout worker with the help of remply,ive had various time off with my back spasms and being unwell and have suffered the consequenses of the disapliarey process on a number of occasions ,in the last year i have had two stomach infections (one day each time ) then in july had to be rushed to hospital with burst appendix had 6 weeks off recovering,this was delt with under sya with just a welcome back and put down to mitigating so that was fine,last month had three days off with flu went back for one shift then pulled muscle in back worked another shift in pain then back got worse went docs got sick notes had four weeks off in total.now i thought my back compaint was always covered by the DDA (disability rights) had an ari meeting last night got told it wasnt covered ,although every other time was and because i had had two verble warnings in this year although expired my warning this time was excellerated straight to a first writen warning .i protested my case with them but they wernt intrested they read warning out asked me to sign it i refused then my blood boiled over and i walked out and came home.i feel victimised bullied and totaly frustrated their system stinks.

Friday, November 16, 2007

Tesco's Cheapside Manager Alan is an Ape!

I bought some Bahlsen biscuits marked on special earlier this week and noticed that the till price was £ 1.03 compared to the £ 0.79 on the shelf. I noticed while doing a self-service check out that the price was wrong and a member of staff corrected the price back to what it should be. Today I thought I would see if they had bothered to fix the error and bought the biscuits again but sure enough the price still came up at £ 1.03 in the check-out despite the shelf price still being £ 0.79.
I insisted on seeing the manager (Alan in the Cheapside Branch in London) who acted in a surly manner and just shoved the £ 0.24 owing and my receipt at me. He was upset because he thought I should have just called another checkout supervisor and had them correct the price while I was checking out. When I explained that it wasn’t my job to correct their prices when I have already told them that they are wrong and said I should have been given an apology for this attempt to rip me off, he got surly and told me “there is a Marks and Spencers nearby – go there in future”. When I said I would report him he then started telling me not to come back to the store and was yelling at me as I left the store.
Clearly staff training is a low priority at Tesco as is correcting “mistaken” prices – especially given that the new price-correction only policy now makes it a very lucrative business.

Thursday, November 15, 2007

Tesco destroy all humans!


Whilst looking for an official e-mail to complain to Tesco (think I'll have to write to them as no e-mail was forthcoming) I stumbled across this site. A whole site dedicated to grumbling about Tesco. Fantastic.

Anyhow at my local store in Kentish town they are replacing the nice friendly (mostly) staff with those self service machines. Fair enough in a large store its good to have the option of fast tracking through self service- but in a tiny express store? And to have no choice is ridculous. Staff are gloomy at the prospect of loosing their jobs and it is hard to use your own bags with the machines.... I don't want a carrier bag i want to use my own bag. I dont' care about so-called green club card points... just reducing waste and helping the environment! Grumble grumble.

I am boycotting them now, I know it won't make a feck of a differnce but damn does it make me feel better.

Whew, rant over.

Thursday, November 08, 2007

Welcome to TescoRipOff.com










TescoRipOff reveals the shocking truth about Tesco's serious and widespread overcharging of its customers by leaving out-of-date prices and offers on display in stores. Amazingly, Chief Executive Terry Leahy has said he sees nothing wrong in doing this.
Click here for more amazing info on Tesco's ripoff.

Wednesday, November 07, 2007

Tesco please refund what is rightfully mine!

I ordered a dishwasher for my sister who lives in Andover England as a gift. (I live in the U.S.A..) The order # was 05426139. The dishwasher was supposed to have been installed and it was not. I had paid the extra 20 or so pounds for the installation. The people that delivered the washer informed my sister (who is 53 years of age and has no plumbing expertise whatsoever) that the pipe they had was not long enough. Then the same people told her that if she "had any problems to call them." My sister called and was politely informed that "if the pipe was too short they would not have been able to install the item." I do not believe when the 20 pounds was taken from my credit card that it said anything about, we can install, only if the pipe is long enough? I had intended the dishwasher to be a gift not an added expense. I had also intended to replace her stove and refrigerator one at a time. The dishwasher was delivered on the 16th of October and finally my sister was able to get enough money together to pay someone to come to her house and install the dishwasher November 2nd. I have emailed and called and up to this point received one response that says "we promise to be back in touch as soon as possible." That was dated 10/26/2007.
I am very disappointed in the lack of / slow response to both my sister and myself up until this time. I want to be refunded the amount that was taken from my credit card under false pretenses.
I am very unhappy with the whole situation. Tesco ruined the surprise that I had for my sister, then went on to ruin my perception of what I believed was a reputable company who really did care about their customers and customer service.
Again please refund that which is rightfully mine.
Yours Sincerely, Erika Culliford.

Sunday, October 28, 2007

Whistle Blown at Terry's Head Office

I work at Tesco Head Office and came across some very interesting material :

- Commercial staff having 'secret' accounts with suppliers whereby the Tesco buyers overpay in the good times with the understanding that they can call on the deposit to artificially show improved management of margins when demanded by senior management, up to £25m would be 'squirrelled' away in this manner at any one time. On 2 occasions that I was aware of these secret accounts were used to commit fraud;

- land buyers having to buy x sqft of land to achieve objectives and in turn receive lucrative bonuses, regardless of whether there was any real chance of building a store on the land;

- staff particularly in the property department receiving excessive hospitality, such as receiving multiple fully paid skiing holidays a year;

- mislead staff about the planned offshoring of jobs to India, Tesco senior management knew from the start they intended to lose 2,800 jobs in the Head Office and move them to India. Even when the headcount in India made it above 1,000 they still managed to keep news of this out of the press - other companies were hammered in the press for losing far less UK staff to India;

- a case of bullying and poor management in a store lead to an employee with mental health issues committing suicide, the initial investigation was a cover up;

...more to come

Tesco Nightworkers Depressed

Ive been working for Tesco for about 5 years pretty much. Market Deeping (2875) store. I work at nights with a few others and feel very very depressed. Because from what we see is that the whole store is relying on us all the time. And when something fails its all our fault. Yet things could be sorted out in the day if they work around things better instead of relying on us 100%. Cause the grocery department workers mainly at night. And about 4 in the day.

And to make it even more stupid. Our store manager apparently came up with this idea letting us have christmas eve off if we work Boxing day this year. Now that be taking the biscuit far as i'm concerned. Its a national holiday. So it aint gonna happen no matter what.

But the main thing that is really upsetting me the most is, The constant relying on me. Just cause i know a fair bit of the shopfloor and stuff. Doesn't mean i should be a Jack of all trades compared to the other G.A's. Everyone should be treated the same. And i do hate the constant asking on how im getting on and which gives me the feeling they need an extra body somewhere else every 5 seconds. Or i aint going fast enough for them.

And last off all. Ever since the nights have been going. We dont get the great food benefits compared to the days. All we got is Sweets and rock hard sandwichs in the vendor machines. Bit unfair dont you think.

Alex

Friday, October 05, 2007

This is why Tesco is not hot!

Cages left out for hours, sometimes the whole night. especially yogurts and long life. chiller too full for this stock as spliting down the order needs to be done in there. Unless its christmas and raw meat has overflowed into the provisions chill, then the split is done in the warehouse or shop floor.. how long do you think it takes to split down 80+ cages and then put it on the shelf? more than 20mins.. try hours..

Waste on the shop floor. Fresh waste I mean.. often catch customers digging around the baskets of now out of code reductions.

The policy of never paying staff for half hours.. so if you start at 2130-0700 you only get 2200-0700 pay.

Confidentiality of the 'sick book' when you phone your name, dept and reason for absence are put in a book, this book is then taken to every handover where anyone there can browse through.. any team leader, manager, options candidate, pre options.. and trust me.. it's not confidential.

A thing called 'rolling stock' Where a loose produce item is out of date.. the label on the side of the basket/dolly somehow vanishes (making it illegal) but gets sold anyhow.. or another one is out of date loose things again.. being bagged and put in the reductions cabinet.

The same old one about fire exits blocked up.. always blocked up.

Working in a 24hr store on the tills by myself with no security guard. what about the 2 at all times rule?? i now refuse to work there by myself on such occasions.

Produce Dollies with raw meat stacked in baskets above fresh unwrapped produce.. mainly apples, they dont even have a plastic cover. think of that next time you give your child a tesco apple.

Monday, September 10, 2007

Tesco internet service pay as you (dont) go!

I had a Tesco Anytime Internet package which i tried to switch to pay as you go as i obtained a broadband package with another ISP. The Tesco screens went through and switched my package to pay as you go but then did not load the browser for me to use pay as you go. I didn't worry about it as didn't really need to use pay as you go.

I then emailed Tesco.net to resolve this and emails went back and forth giving mixed information. In the end i was told i would have to phone in.

Imagine my shock when my credit card was billed the following month. I tried to cancel it again online and it went through the motions and then did an error message about pay as you go. Then i was billed again for another months usage!

I phoned the number they suggested at Tesco.net and they cancelled my package and said if a refund was due it would be applied to my credit card.

To date this has not happened despite several calls to Tesco.net and two conversations with a Manager. He agreed i should not have to pay for the service if i had not used it. i asked him to check their records to see if i had used the net via Tesco since i switched to broadband.

No refund or contact has been received since. i have stopped shopping at Tesco's as i have decided to vote with my pocket.

Thank you for a great site.

Tesco won't even give water to staff?

I worked part time at Tesco whilst I was at uni. the staff are lovely but the managers are awful. I’m not sure what it is that makes them think they are better than the general assistants, I was there finishing off my PhD yet was treated like I was educated to 11+ standard. The attitude towards the staff really put them on a downer, especially when they put them on a disciplinary for having days off sick, yes, that’s right, if your ill then you get in trouble. They also flaunt human rights, telling staff they are not allowed to have a bottle of water with them on the tills which is a direct violation of the ‘portable water’ that all staff are entitled to have. All in all they make a lot of money because that’s their motivation, they are not concerned about staff welfare and flaunt human rights and safety laws where possible. it’s a disgrace.
Sincerely
Anna Stapleton

Saturday, August 25, 2007

Dem Tesco man be racist... (but me not)

My self and a friend (work-colleague), both of us of British -African/Caribbean origin. Were in the Tesco Metro store on Kingsland road North London, weds 8th aug, approx 5.50 pm. We are regulars to the store, especially as my friend has his own business situated around the corner, to the Tesco. To our annoyance, we found that the security guard (Indian) took it upon himself to follow us around the store. As if to say, 'I'll follow these two black guys, they look like thieves'. He was a bit too blatant, as he tried to make out that he was moving around shopping baskets. Me and my friend noticed what the security guard was doing and decided to complain to a manager. The manager of the store was eventually found. I took him round to face the security guard. Then we made known our grievance. The manager seemed to find the whole episode quite amusing-(he was grinning from ear to ear.) I let him know that I didn't find this incident amusing, but rather offensive. The manager explained that the security guard was 'just doing his job'. (Tesco's must have a racist policy then, of instructing their security to tail only, people of colour!) The security guard at this point told me to, 'Shut up!' Then the manager stepped between us, as if to keep the peace. As I mentioned my work colleague owns his own business around the corner. I myself am a freelance -writer. (We are NOT thieves and are fed up of being treated as such @ your store.) We have enough funds between us to go to court if needs be! We therefore want a written apology from BOTH the security guard and the store manager. We will be notifying the CRE and I may well document my 'TESCO experience' in some way using online media...(If the Indian security guard knew his history, he would know that Africans inhabited 'India' which means 'black', a long time before the people living there now, they come from African blood.)

Charlie Bins
mob: 07949 99 88 23

Update: I've not had a reply to my email to Tesco. (The whole thing has started a furious debate online within the African community.) I and my work colleague have stopped our custom at all Tesco stores. If you aobserve Tues London Lite 14 aug page 4. You will see that the Met Police have stats to show that foreigners commit 20% of all London crime. TOP of the list are the POLISH!!!

Tesco's Fresh Prawns are FROZEN?!

I love my prawns!!!! However, visiting my local TESCO store in Montrose on Thursday 16th August, I was about to put my TESCO Jumbo (fresh) prawns in my basket, but noticed they were in fact FROZEN!! Label clearly states that the product can be frozen at home - dilemma! Are they fresh or frozen - can they be refrozen at home??

I managed to (finally) attract the attention of one of the two assistants standing immediately behind me - busy talking to friends (customers?) - though it took a few attempts! I explained my dilemma about "fresh", "frozen", health hazzards, etc. After around 6-7 minutes, they called "Chris" (presumably the person in charge?) who, VERY reluctantly shook the packages about, mulled over the situation (I'm still waiting for a decision) and, even more reluctantly, took the few remaining packets of prawns away (I think?) muttering something about "contacting the supplier"!

So, I left for home (minus my dinner) in the hope that I'd perhaps saved a few other unsuspecting shoppers from possible food poisoning?! Today (Friday 17th August) visited the TESCO store in nearby Forfar - guess what? Same "fresh" prawns - FROZEN! Unfortunately, I was in a rush, and couldn't find a nearby assistant to help - needless to say, I didn't buy the product - no dinner again!

This is a disaster waiting to happen - my biggest issue is (apart from the obvious health implications) that there were only a few items left on the shelf by the time I discovered this - how many people didn't actually detect this before purchase/consumption??

I, personally, am a long standing, faithful TESCO customer, however, I now have very serious doubts about the food standards - too many incidents recently in the media regarding health issues for my liking!!

TESCO, please do something about this - someone could end up VERY sick and, unfortunately, your staff appear blissfully unconcerned....

A VERY concerned customer. Vicki P viccatpat@yahoo.co.uk

Tuesday, July 31, 2007

Do not touch my BOX!!

Not so much a complaint about the companies ethos as the sheer rudeness of one of their staff. I visited their store in Fulbourn, Cambridge, this afternoon.

I had a look around the wine section and found a number of offers to tempt me. I selected half a dozen bottles and then looked around for a box to put them in. The Tescos employee in charge of the wine section was emptying half cases of wine in order to make an end of aisle display so I asked him if I could have one of the empty boxes; he refused! In a very abrupt tone he told me I would have to use the flimsy card carriers they provide instead. He then appeared to make a point of tearing up the box he had just emptied.

Half way along the aisle was one of their rubbish cages with a *complete* empty box beside it, so I picked it up and went to put my bottles in it. No sooner had I picked it up than I noticed the employee was bearing down on me! He shouted that "THERE IS ALWAYS ONE" at me in an aggressive manner and just stood there glaring at me.

At this point I tried to politely explain that I don't like using their carriers as I find them too flimsy. Indeed this same employee had had to fetch a mop the last time I used one as the bottom gave way mid way to the till and all 6 bottles shattered on the floor. Evidentially his memory isn't that hot. Was there really a heinous crime in me using an empty cardboard box that had been consigned to the rubbish pile?

Apparently so. He stormed off again muttering at me.

Thanks Tesco, there's nothing like sheer rudeness and public embarrassment to make me go to Sainsburys.

Tesco not kosher...

Today my wife was humiliated at Tesco Hurst Park West Molesey Surrey.

Due to staff neclect the security tag was not removed from a£3.96 hand mixer. She was detained at the door when the alarm sounded.

We are well known in the area and people who know her are witness to this. It was very embarrising for my wife.

We were not offered any compensation for there mistake.

We have had on two occassions fish and chicken that was off and if eaten would have cauesed harm.

The nice Jewish couple who started Tesco would not have approved. Sorry Tessi Cohen.

Shezian Morris

Monday, June 11, 2007

Media Request FAO Tesco Staff

"Are you a current or former Tesco employee? Did extreme targets cause you to cut corners in your job? Are you a manager or supervisor who was forced to compromise your standards in order to keep profits on track? If so please get in touch with this site."

Saturday, June 02, 2007

Sheer disgust!

I am typing this email in sheer disgust ! My name is Donna Ramsden, and I have been a Tesco customer and club card member for approx 6 years now. Until recently I actually enjoyed shopping in your stores, for the baby products we require. However, on Friday I went into Tesco express in Birstall Batley, for babywipes and groceries for that nights dinner. Now the only money I had access to at that hour (6.30) on that day (fri)happened to be two scottish 10 pound notes. I finished picking out what I needed, and stood in the que for around 5 to 10 mins, only to be told (after she had scanned all of my shopping through the check out) that the store now has a company policy of NOT accepting the notes due to too many forgeries ! So, after I told her she had to take it because it was after all, legal tender, she called the manageress to explain to me why they couldn't take it. Therefore I had to leave the shop empty handed, and feelin like a criminal.
So, my partner (who is scottish, and finds this whole affair very offensive) called the tesco customer services number and was told by the customer service advisor that he knew nothing of the so called ban ! To cut the rest of a long story short, Tescos head office phoned the Manager of Tesco Express that this is not company policy, and that he should re-train his staff to check for forged notes ! We were satisfied by this action and were quite willing to forgive and forget ! But then this (sunday) dinnertime my partners brother (who is obviously also scottish) went to the same store only to be made to feel like a criminal aswell. This is totally out of order. We are as a family, all of us hard working people who have never had any trouble of any kind before. I cannot stress enough, how embarrased I was, and brother in law says he has never felt to racially belittled in his entire life.
Can you please sort this issue out one way or another, or I will be taking it further believe me ! I am very angry and unsure as to weather or not I will be using any of your stores again, as a result of this. Seems to me that we have been lied to by the staff, as they said it was now company policy, and then told the opposite by customer services. Please respond to this email, as I cannot just ignore this matter !
Donna Ramsden

Monday, May 07, 2007

Tesco Staff: rat problem is bigger than you know!

The Andover Advertiser reports: An Andover Tesco superstore worker claims their rat problem is far bigger than has previously been suggested by the supermarket - and the infestation has been known about for at least 18 months.

But Tesco strongly refute the claim, saying they would have been shut down if that were so.

The store worker, who does not wish to be identified for fear of losing his job, claimed trays used in the home delivery service (the dot-com delivery area) were regularly found covered in rat droppings. He said staff joked about getting a cat in to deal with the vermin.

He said: "They've known they've had rats for ages but there's nothing they will do about it.

"If it was a little bakery or corner shop then a health inspector would be straight in there but because it's Tesco they think they can get away with it."

The worker said the issue was only being resolved now because of the Andover Advertiser breaking the story three weeks ago.
advertisement

The original report of a mum spotting a rat inside the River Way superstore has generated dozens of comments on the Andover Advertiser's website since 20 April. Most of the comments state readers' disgust at Tesco's handling of the situation.

But a spokesman for Tesco said:"It's absolute rubbish that there have been rat droppings in the dot-com' delivery area. It's complete nonsense and I would query that source of information. We would refute these claims very strongly.

"The main thing to point out is that if there was any problem at all and the Environmental Health and Health and Safety Officers were concerned they would shut the place and of course that's not happened.

"Staff are taking it very seriously. There might be one or two junior guys that find it quite amusing but we take it very seriously.

"As for it only being sorted out because of the newspaper's involvement, well that's just complete nonsense."

In response to the original story on the 20 April a Tesco spokesman said that the store was aware of the problem but was adamant there was no risk to customers.

He said: "It's a case of taking every possible step we can to make sure these horrible things don't gain access."

A spokesperson for Test Valley Borough Council said: "Tesco has received, and will continue to receive, regular visits from the council as part of our regular food hygiene programme.

"We have been working closely with the store's management and the company's pest control service.

"They continue to take pest proofing measures which we will review with them."

Friday, April 27, 2007

Shock for mum as she spots Tesco rat in aisle

This Is Hampshire report that an Andover mum was left shocked and disgusted when she saw a rat running around Andover's Tesco superstore. Hayley Kirby, from Pilgrims Way, was shopping at the River Way store with her 12-year-old son Jordan when she saw the rat running under the bread aisle.

"I was just so shocked when I saw it come running out from under the bread.

"It was huge, definitely bigger than average, and it had obviously been eating in the store.

"Rats are vermin. They shouldn't be anywhere near Tesco.

"They are definitely the last thing you expect to see when shopping in a food store," she added.
advertisement

While she was waiting at the tills she told Jordan to look in the aisle to see if he could see anything.

"He told me members of staff were all on their knees looking under the aisles but whenever customers appro-ached they got up acting as though they weren't doing anything," she said.

Hayley later contacted Tesco's head office only to be told they were aware of the problem.

"I was told they have pest control coming in three times a week so they obviously know what's going on."

Hayley, who has shopped at Tesco for as long as she can remember, will now only shop at the superstore because its convenient..

"It's only down the road and I admit I'll be wary whenever I walk in there but I'll just remember not to buy any open ended food. Who knows which French stick the rats have been eating?"

A spokesman for Tesco said the store was aware of the problem but was adamant there was no risk to customers.

He added: "The store is based next to land used by Southern Water and rats have been an issue for the whole of the retail area. We are working as hard as we can to eradicate the problem by meshing and sealing up points of entry. It's a case of taking every possible step we can to make sure these horrible things don't gain access."

Tesco HGV Driver blows the whistle on Tesco's dirty habits?

This is a note that should be brought to the attention of all customer's at Tesco's. I used to be a HGV driver delivering all types of food/produce fresh chilled frozen etc.

I was working via an Agency company for several months, however when i applied for the vacancy i was turned down for the job not because of my excellent driving nor the fact i always did my job well. NO the fact that i dare complain to Tesco....

Having been a chef in HMFoces for several years, My health and hygiene is of reasonably good knowledge. So when i refused to take rubbish back in my lorry, that had been left outside a store for several days, The managment were not too happy. If my vehicle had been empty fair enough, however i had fresh produce on, and i think it is disgusting to have fresh produce in cages next to rubbish which could have anything inside of it , inc vermin. WOULD you buy produce if you had known it had sat next to soaking wet cardboard?

I am desperately trying to get hold of tesco's to make a formal complaint however the no i phone never seems to be answered, I hope this helps in some way.

Mr G Jones Peterborough.

Free Condom in your Tesco Sandwich?

MK News report that a horrified Michelle Lewis was violently ill after she bit into a Tesco cheese sandwich and found a condom inside.

The single office worker from Milton Keynes, Bucks, has contacted her doctor for tests after fearing she may have contracted a sexually transmitted disease.

The 28-year-old said she was disgusted when she bit into the £1.30 ploughman's sandwich and chomped down onto the unwrapped prophylactic which was hidden between the lettuce and tomato.

She was instantly sick and concerned colleagues contacted Tesco to complain.

Michelle said last night: "I bought the sandwich from the petrol station shop for my lunch while I was filling up my car.

I started to eat it while sitting at my desk. I had taken one bite out of the corner, which was fine.

When I took the second bite I felt something rubbery in my mouth. I ran to the sink and the condom was hanging out of the sandwich. I threw up in the toilet straight away.

"It is a disgusting and vile thing to put in a sandwich. If this was somebody's idea of a practical joke at the factory they are clearly very sick minded. This is the most disgusting thing that has ever happened to me.

"This has put me off buying prepacked sandwiches for life. I shall bring my own in from on." The vegetarian sandwich, which claims to contain 'no artificial flavours', was in a sealed package when Michelle purchased it at the Tesco store Buckingham.

The condom, which did not appear to be used, was unwrapped from its foil covering and covered in Branston pickle.

Michelle, who works as a training assessor for Protocol Skills in Milton Keynes, contacted Environmental Services to take away the soiled sandwich.

She said: "My complaint to Tesco has been ignored. I just want someone to take it seriously but instead I had a manager telling me there was nothing they could do and it was just something that happened.

I was outraged by their attitude.

"Tesco is the largest grocery store in Britain and this sort of thing shouldn't happen." A spokesman for Tesco's store said: "We can't imagine how something like this would happen, but we will be carrying out an investigation with our supplier. We would like to apologise."

Thursday, April 05, 2007

Tesco make another customer feel bad... this time she's 74 years old. Nice one Terry.

On the 29th Match 2007 I had an unfortunate incident where, through no ones fault, I had a spillage on a pair of trousers in the Tesco Branch at Nailsea. The matter was dealt with efficiently and courteously by Customer Care who made a record of the incident on their computer - I was told that I didn't need a record as it would be stored on their computer - told to take the trousers to be dry-cleaned, return with the receipt and I would be reimbursed.

On the 2nd April 2007 at approximately 3.15 pm I returned to the Nailsea Branch with my receipt making a round trip of 10 miles, unfortunately, no record of the incident could be found. The Duty Manager who dealt with the query decided that I should be reimbursed for the dry-cleaning but when I asked for mileage was rather dismayed.
She did suggest £2 but I was not happy with this and 32p per mile was agreed upon.

The reason I am writing to you is that I was far from happy with the way I was dealt with by the duty Manager. She ignored me until negotiations for mileage came up and I felt I was being a nuisance. I am a loyal Tesco Customer, 74 years old, who can ill-afford to pay for unnecessary petrol money. If the young lady in question hopes to progress up the management ladder at Tesco's she needs to improve her customer relation technique.

What if an accident like this happens when you are miles from home? I am sure, if the matter was recorded correctly on the computer arrangements could be made with your local stores. I look forward to hearing from you on this matter

Mrs M T Bateman

Wednesday, April 04, 2007

Tesco Crew Not Down With Tesco!

Hi there I work in an express store in the city centre of Glasgow and its the worst job i've had. We have only been open a matter of weeks and the staff and managers are overworked and stressed out all the time. The shelves are empty and dirty and most of us are looking elsewhere for jobs.Anonymous disgruntled employees........

Tesco Direct goes Indirect with Poor Delivery

I want to keep this brief as I have already wasted weeks trying to get an oven delivered, fitted and old one scraped. Not a difficult process - you would hope.

Urgh I feel sick even just thinking about the whole thing. Here goes. It was all arranged for Tuesday the 20th March so I took the day off. At 8.30 the cooker was delivered, but to my surprise the delivery men just left, the cooker dumped in the middle of my sitting room. Chasing them down the road (in my best pink slippers) I told them that I had also paid for installation and scrap. They told me someone would turn up later as it’s a separate job. By 7pm I was sadly still waiting.

After waiting 20 mins to get though to Tesco I was told that engineers only come out on Saturdays in my area (I live in south London not the Shetlands) anyway Saturday no show (no phone call to say they had cancelled it) so I took the following Friday off work as it was arranged for then (by a private engineer to take on the work they can't handle …he is a very busy man!) anyway AGAIN no show, so they promised Saturday by now 11 days late.

To my delight he showed upand installed the new cooker, to my horror I still have the old cooker outside sadly waiting to be scraped, the scrap people again did not bother to show up or call to say they had cancelled. I have now been promised Wednesday which will make it 3 weeks late!

I have been given my delivery cost back and offered £100 in compensation, but when I weigh that up with the fact that 2 weeks after it was meant to all be completed its just crap - I was even told to get my council to collect it!!!

I feel old and tired and will never ever order from Tesco extra again, if you value your mental health don't go near them!

Emmeline Keith-Krelik

Sunday, April 01, 2007

Tesco Still Not Recycling Properly!!!

I am very disappointed and extremely annoyed, I visited the Warrington Tesco Superstore like I do every week, to do my recycling and at the same time my weekly shop. I was very annoyed and disgusted when i visited the store last week (wed) mid morning, to go to the recycling bins, and find that they were all over spilling with rubbish, and there were 10 - 15 bags full of recycling rubbish that had just been dumped in and around the recycling bays, the bins looked like they hadnt been emptied for at least 2 weeks.

I think it is so wrong that the government are extremely hot on members of the public recycling even to the point of us being charged if we dont recycle items properly and stores like the Warrington branch cant even be bothered to control their contractors to empty the bins regularly and keep the bays clear of rubbish.

Needless to say i was so annoyed that i did end up going to Morrisons in Warrington where i did my recycling and my shop at the same time.

A response as to why it was allowed to get in that state would be good, i know my mother is starting to recycle and i told her whatever she does dont bother going to tescos as they dont even bother to empty the bins, that i have also introduced her to morrisons where she does her shopping aswell as recycling. Im afraid if Tescos dont improve they are going to be loosing alot of business.

Regards
M Bowden

Tesco's Bad Customer Service Lottery!

I am writing to complain about a member of staff in your Tesco extra store in Galashiels. Whilst in the store today my 17 year old daughter was refused a lottery ticket because the woman who was serving did not believe that she was 17, even though both myself and her dad was present. This I understand is store policy and I would have been okay with this but the way that she spoke to me when I asked to buy one was disgraceful especially in front of other customers. She spoke down to me as if I was a child made out that I was a liar and she then refused to serve me a lottery ticket in case I gave it to my daughter.

I'm actually 45 years old and have been a customer of yours for many many years and I have never before been spoken to like that before. I spoke to one of the managers who actually apologised on her behalf which I think was also wrong, I should have received an apology from her. For someone who deals with the public on a daily basis her attitude needs to change or I am sure you will lose many more customers.

Yours sincerely
Mrs G Campbell

Tuesday, March 27, 2007

Tesco - rotten on the inside!?

We are forever buying fruit that looks just beautiful from the outside but is often actually inedible or of very poor quality. Having lived for half my life in a sub-tropical country (South Africa) you can rest assured I know tropical / sub tropical fruit VERY WELL.

The current example is of Nectarines purchased on the 20/03/2007 at 15:54 As I said it is all very well having fruit arriving here from all over the world LOOKING perfect on the outside but when you try and eat it, as is often the case, it is not correctly ripened and or has a powerdry texture and when allowed to ripen a bit, as in this case a few days, goes off or at least ends up inedible.

The picture shown reflects the fruit as it was on Friday 23rd March 3 days after purchase. It is a shamefull indictment of the lack of interest TESCO actually has in supplying “good quality” products.

My complaint is not aimed at getting something back from Tesco (although I often feel that I should because to be sold fruit like this is not on, in simple terms IT'S a rip off !) but more towards offering valuable feedback on the problem of picking, preparing and transporting fruit over long distances and getting TESCO to DO SOMETHING about the problem.

Before I move on, I do however wish to point out that these nectarines were and still are on a special offer, HALF PRICE, and I could just not help thinking that TESCO is simply dumping stock that is not quiet up to standard or stock that they know will not last and reach the customer in the quality it should, at special prices, to get the public to buy the sub-standard product and minimise TESCO's wastage / loss.

Back on the more general matter, as you may be aware fruit can be successfully picked early, held in cold storage and ripened on demand by raising the storage temperature and spiking the natural ripening process by the introduction of Ethylene into the air.

Unfortunately this process needs very tight control and degradation of the quality of the fruit, as has happened in this case can occur, amongst other things, because...

Fruit is overheated between time of picking and cold storage for transport.
Fruit is over cooled during the cold storage transport stage.

I think Tesco should have a hard look at the procedures involved and make it the responsibility of the suppliers / transporters to keep accurate recorded temperatures from beginning to end of the process, recording the temperature every 30 minutes during of the process using an inexpensive digital device that accompanies the fruit throughout it's journey. This way TESCO can refuse to accept fruit that will not reflect the high standards we, your customers demand. There are however also other actions / factors that govern the fruit final quality that should be considered.

This way Tesco can live up to it's name of bringing high quality to it's customers in every aspect of your service.

Grey Smith

Tesco-Complaint: This is far from the the first rotten produce complaint we've received - Tesco must receive hundreds if not thousands of rotten complaints. Will they ever do anything about it?

Tuesday, March 20, 2007

My beef with Tesco over meat labelling

DAN BURGLASS writes in The Scotsman that SUPERMARKETS are a fact of life and, over the past 30 years, the intense competition between the major operators has resulted in a massive decline in the real cost of the shopping basket.

However, while the shareholders who invested in these monoliths have stacked up healthy dividends and seen their capital worth increase enormously, not everyone is a winner.

I find that consumers are becoming increasingly confused, especially in regard to labelling and sell-by dates. I reckon that I am normally a fairly calm person, but my blood pressure must have shot up to a dangerously high level on Saturday during a visit to the local Tesco. Among the various items on the shopping list was some cold meat, preferably beef, to go with a salad. Sure enough, I found pre-cooked beef in a packet.

Ever one to read the small print on the labels, even though occasionally it requires something akin to a magnifying glass, I scrutinised the fine detail. There was no complaint with the declaration that there was no added water and that each 105 grams of the product contained 100 grams of raw beef. That satisfied me, but my eyes moved on down the label to the part titled "additional information". This was getting more interesting, but it was then that the real sense of confusion set in: "Tesco assured beef [comes] from farms in the UK, EU or South America."

To my mind that is simply not good enough and is thoroughly misleading. But since there was no "red tractor logo" or the Specially Selected Scotch branding, I suspect that the beef originated in South America since very little beef is imported from the EU into this country. So why cannot Tesco, and its competitors, inform customers from which specific country particular products are sourced? The packet of beef remains unopened. My inclination is to put it in a jiffy bag and dispatch it poste haste to Tesco chief executive Sir Terry Leahy with a note requesting him to explain just what the label means. However, by the time it arrives on his desk it will be well past its ridiculously short recommended sell-by date!

Later that afternoon, in the pub during the half-time break in the rugby international in Paris, I put that object of my concern on the bar and asked a couple of friends to have a good look at the label. I was pleased to discover very quickly that I was not the only to be confused over the country of origin sentence. "Well, where does it come from?" asked Sandy. I could not help him.

But it is not just that single packet that is causing confusion. In recent weeks, the National Beef Association, along with NFU Scotland, has highlighted the practice of "co-mingling". This occurs when the multiples have beef from different countries in the same display cabinet. This is contrary to EU regulations, but it is widespread. There is at least one major store in the heart of Edinburgh where beef from Scotland, the UK and South America is all on display in the same cabinet. I raised the matter with the store supervisor, only to be met with a shrug and advice to write to the relevant head office if I was not happy. It should not be left to consumers to enforce the rules. That is what trading standards officers are supposed to be doing.

I am also intrigued by the claim that all Tesco beef comes from "assured farms". I can accept that declaration in respect of UK beef. Indeed, Scotland led the way in the entire concept of farm assurance and one of the pioneers in that field was the late Sir Alistair Grant in his time as head of Safeway. I recall interviewing him in his office in London's Park Lane as part of an item for BBC Scotland's television's farming programme, Landward.

Grant was a great enthusiast for farm assurance, stating quite categorically that this was the way ahead. The initial reaction from many farmers who saw the programme ranged from outright scorn to that of fearing that the principle would lead to further costs for the industry and that they would only consider joining up if they were to be guaranteed a premium. But there were some visionaries, not the least of whom was Maitland Mackie, that eponymous agri-business operator from Aberdeenshire. Maitland said all those years ago that it was not a case of expecting a premium for being assured, but rather finding it increasingly difficult to find a market, even at discounted values, if a business was not assured, and to increasingly high standards. Of course, Maitland has been vindicated and now virtually all the beef, lamb, pork, milk and cereals produced on Scottish farms is assured, and to a very high level with independent certification.

And that brings me back to imports of beef from South America. There is no possibility of the EU producing all the beef it requires and recent figures from Revenue and Customs reveal that, during past year, the UK imported 41,200 tonnes from Brazil, Argentina and Uruguay. Production standards vary, but a clandestine visit by the Irish Farmers' Association last year concluded that very few of the units they viewed in Brazil would comply with EU protocols. Publication of the findings strained relations between Dublin and Brazil, but consumers have a right to know how their food is produced. Shoppers are becoming increasingly sophisticated, with a growing thirst for accurate information, fuelled by the popular media picking up quickly on any shortcomings on the part of UK farmers. The concept of fair trade is admirable, but it must be fair and equitable for everyone. A more robust labelling regime on the part of supermarkets would be a good place to begin.

Sunday, March 18, 2007

Tesco Still Hatin' Disabled People

I wish to complain about the new signage above the goods in the aisles at Tesco in Newport, South Wales (the branch on the Harlect Retail Estate).

Some of the signs have recently been replaced with white lettering on pale blue/green backgrounds. I have 53-year-old eyes and I find these impossible to read, especially from a distance as the colour contrast is appalling. Someone with even a minimal visual impairment would find it even more difficult to read these signs.

In order for you to comply with the Disability Discrimination Acts 1995 and 2005, you need to make a "reasonable adjustment" and replace these dreadful signs as quickly as possible. In order to comply with the Acts, you need to have the writing in black on either a white or pale yellow background. If you insist on white lettering, the background will need to be black, dark blue or dark green at the very least.

There will be no acceptable excuse for not making these signs visible given Tesco's huge profits. I cannot believe that with the size of the Tesco organisation, you do not have access to someone who could have advised you on the signs; I hope this position is not replicated across the UK.

Please make your stores accessible to people with all forms of disability. Your record in other areas is very good. I look forward to hearing from you.

Ann Morgan
Project Director

Tesco's Arswydus Cwsmer Oedfa!

Swansea Marina store lock their unmanned changing rooms and you have to ring the bell for a member of staff to unlock them. Trouble is no one ever responds to the bell. Yesterday I stood in queue for 15 minutes but no one came so I dumped the clothes and left as did the others in the queue.Come on Tesco get your act together and while you are at it tell your staff on tills and CS to stop chatting to one another and help the customers. Don't sit there with your arms folded while I finish packing and don't yawn constantly in my face.

Saturday, March 17, 2007

Tesco helps fuel alcoholic binge drinking

Tesco are selling glasses labelled "Small Wine Glasses" with no information on capacity. According to health professionals, a small wine glass would contain 75 ml, approximately one unit's worth of alcohol. Tesco's small wine glasses can accommodate 300 ml.

I have written, commented and telephoned Tesco's and other relevant authorities about this and I have been ignored.

I enjoy a few drinks, am no kill-joy, but am appalled at the misrepresentation of the facts Tesco are upholding, and increasingly annoyed at the arrogant manner in which they are treating my complaint.

Lindsay Tether, Evesham, Worcestershire.

Wednesday, March 14, 2007

‘Tesco jails’ planned

THE TIMES REPORTS Short-term “jails” are planned for supermarkets and town centres to deal with yobs and shoplifters under Home Office proposals to ease the burden on police. Discussions have already started about building a “retail jail” inside the Selfridges store in Oxford Street, London.

Suspects would be held for up to four hours in a small room with a clear plastic front so they were visible to custody officers at all times during their detention.

The Home Office proposals for a network of “short-term holding facilities” in shopping malls and high streets aim to help police to process high-volume crimes such as shoplifting. The move to speed up the handling of suspects and save money was outlined in a consultation paper on rules to govern how suspects are treated by police.

The paper also suggests another radical change to existing rules by allowing police to question suspects after they have been charged. The proposal for short-term holding facilities is intended to facilitate cases where suspects’ identity cannot readily be confirmed.

“A potential solution in dealing with high-volume offending is to enable the police to make use of short-term holding facilities located in shopping centres and town centres,” the paper said. The facilities would be secure but would not be the same as standard cell design, it added.

“Persons detained would be subject to detention to a maximum period of four hours to enable fingerprinting, photographing and DNA sampling,” the paper, Modernising Police Powers, said.

“The aim would be to locate the short-term holding facility in busy areas to allow quick access and processing of suspects to enable the officer to resume operational duties as quickly as possible,” it added.

As well as its plan for Selfridges, the Metropolitan Police is understood to be interested in placing units in other stores and is planning custody units in every London borough.

The Home Office document also suggests allowing police to fingerprint people over 10 accused of nonrecordable offences – crimes for which an offender cannot be imprisoned. At present fingerprints and DNA and other samples are only taken for recordable offences.

The consultation said that extending fingerprinting would send a strong message to offenders that, whatever their crimes, they would be subject to indenti-fication that could be checked against other databases and linked to other offences. Gareth Crossman, policy director of Liberty, the civil rights group, said: “The Government is fast replacing the best traditions of English law with a chilling presumption of guilt.

“Dropping litter and bad parking are proposed as lame excuses for an ever-growing national DNA database.”

Tesco Trollied My Car!

On 28 February 07 my car was damaged by one of your trolleys.It was seen by a customer who saw trolleys being placed in the trolley park by a member of staff. Several trolleys were not stacked properly behind the rail.On that date it was very windy and raining. One of the trolleys that was not correctly stacked came adrift and struck my car causing damage to back wing and wheel arch also rear back door.


Since the incident I have been calling Tesco on a daily basis to try and get someone to take me seriously. I have been fobbed off, ignored, and generally treated as if I were a nuisance. I have waited in for return phone calls that never happen, and yesterday I was told to attend the store at 6pm, only to find that the manager was not there. On one occasion I was told that my complaint was of no priority because of the fuel problem - even though my incident occurred before the fuel problem - and surely all your customers are important? I have now been asked to send in a witness statement to your claims office - my reference is 7653970.

I have absolutely no confidence that anything is going to happen as a result of my sending in this statement - your track record so far has left me very disillusioned. I feel the customer comes a very poor second with Tesco - you do not seem to have any facilities in place for the customer to speak to anyone - you seem to prefer to keep them at arms length - happy to sell goods to me, but not willing to take any responsibility when things go wrong.

I shop regularly in Tesco - please restore some of my faith by dealing with this issue for me by return.

Regards
Ian Comerford

Inverness Council wisely refuses 'Tesco Town'

THE HERALD REPORTS THE conquest of Inverness by the supermarket giant Tesco - which already rakes in more than half the population's grocery spend - was halted yesterday. The group, whose three existing supermarkets have resulted in the Highland capital being dubbed Tesco Town, wanted a fourth.

But members of the Highland Council's City of Inverness Planning Applications Committee were unanimous in turning down the application for a development on Ness-side at Dores Road. The 4447sq m superstore was to have been part of a district shopping centre, also including unit shops, a petrol filling station, and sites for a hotel and doctors' surgery.
advertisement

The site is at the western end of the Inverness trunk road link. The committee was told that 73 letters of representation and a petition containing 1054 signatures against the proposal had been received by the council, and that Holm Community Council had expressed serious concerns regarding the proposal. The decision brought relief to local campaigners alarmed by the threat to small local shops from the encroachment of the store chain. Tesco, the UK's biggest supermarket chain, whose presence in Scotland burgeoned after the takeover of the William Low chain, now accounts for 51p out of every £1 spent on food in Inverness.

Planning permission for the Ness-side development was refused on the grounds that the proposal went against the Inverness Local Plan in respect of retailing. The committee said the scale of the proposed foodstore was out of proportion to the scale and function of the Ness District, to an extent where it would hinder the establishment of smaller district-level shopping areas they wanted to establish in the other centres identified in the local plan.

It was also contrary to Policy G2 of the Highland Structure Plan in respect of design, since without an indication of parking associated with the hotel and surgery uses, the layout and siting of the buildings might have affected the overall integrity of the development.

The applicants will now be entitled to appeal to the Scottish Executive Inquiry Reporter's Unit. A spokesman for Tesco said later: "We are very disappointed at the decision and we are reviewing our options."

'Tesco town’ opponents to petition Tony Blair

GLASGOW EVENING TIMES REPORTS THAT OPPONENTS of the planned Tesco development in Glasgow's West End are calling on Prime Minister Tony Blair to stop the project. Campaigner Andy Watson insists the supermarket firm's proposals for Partick are "wholly inappropriate" and has started a petition online. Mr Watson, who lives in Partick, said he was prompted to approach Mr Blair after Tesco demolished the disused historic former railway station building on the site.

Tesco's plans for a supermarket, flats, houses and car park near the foot of Byres Road, which have been branded Tesco town', caused an outcry when they were lodged last year. Another petition calling on the Scottish Executive to intervene has already been launched.

Mr Watson said he decided to go straight to Mr Blair because he wanted Partick to keep its mix of independent retailers and corner shops. The 28-year-old web developer, of Caird Drive, said: "I had written a letter of complaint to the city council, but I was wondering what else I could do. "I heard about an online petition to the Prime Minister to stop the fuel tax and I thought that was the best way to do it. "It shows the strength of feeling about the plans and it is easy for people to register their protest."

Mr Watson's petition, which will be sent through the internet to 10 Downing Street, states: "We petition the Prime Minister to stop Tesco building a wholly inappropriate 9950sq m 24-hour hypermarket in Partick, risking Glasgow's independent retailers, markets and wildlife.

"Demolishing Partick Central ticket office was gratuitous; an application was under way to list this building." Mr Watson said Glasgow City Council had a financial interest in the proposal because it part-owned the site. He also quoted Scottish Executive planning guidelines that said: "Designs that fail to integrate developments with surroundings and fail to create links with surrounding urban fabric should be refused planning permission."

Mr Watson also said a transport impact survey agreed with the claim a store of that size was unjustified. And he claimed the development would have a big impact on the viability of businesses in Dumbarton Road, Byres Road, Woodlands Road and Hyndland Road.

A campaign group - Stop Tesco Owning Partick - has been set up to coordinate the opposition. It has its own petition, which has more than 200 signatories, and is to be submitted to the Executive. The group is holding a public meeting in Partick Burgh Hall on April 16 and is to invite officials from the council and a representative from a traders' association to address it.

Tesco's planning application has been submitted to the council, but no date has been set for it to be heard. The address for anyone wanting to join the e-petition is: http://petitions.pm.gov.uk/STOP-TESCO/

Sunday, March 11, 2007

'Concerned' Parent: My 17 year old son is daft enough to risk dying for our country in false wars so kindly let him smoke Tesco' s filthy cigarettes!


While in Tesco Wrexham yesterday with my 17 year old son we both went to the cigarette kiosk to purchase cigarettes. My son is does look young for his age although he is seventeen and expected to be asked to produce I.D.

As he is a serving member of the British Army he carries an official Army I.D card with him at all times which includes a photograph. At the kiosk he produced this I.D but was told it was not acceptable as a form of I.D and was not served.

He was asked if he could produce a drivers license or passport as these were acceptable. These are left with the army back at his barracks in Aldershot. I am disgusted that this I.D was not accepted as if it is good enough for the military and every other place he has been asked to prove his age why do Tesco decide it is not valid I.D to them.

The I.D is only granted to members of the British Army and is therefore not a usual means of I.D but it is recognised by any other place including the Police. I am disgusted that at 17 he is old enough to defend his country but because he only looks young your store takes it upon themselves to reject military I.D.

I hope you look into this and inform your staff that a military I.D card should be accepted for identification, I know it is not a usual form of I.D but they are only issued to soldiers!!!!!!

From a Very Disgusted Parent.

Saturday, March 10, 2007

Tesco tries to takeover Glasgow West End!

Uproar against Tesco’s proposal for a ‘Tesco Town’ in Glasgow’s West End - By: Samer Bagaeen of STOP (Stop Tesco Owning Partick).

This proposal by Tesco involves a Tesco 24-hour superstore, student accommodation, student union, leisure centre and underground parking on land on Beith Street in Glasgow’s West End. All details relating to this on-going dispute can be found on the website of the residents group formed to campaign against this application - STOP (Stop Tesco Owning Partick) www.stoptesco.info. Supporting documents from Architecture and Design Scotland, Historic Scotland, and extensive media coverage including the BBC television and BBC Radio Scotland can be accessed via this site.

STOP is arguing that this proposed scheme by Tesco (http://www.stoptesco.info/tescoplans.htm) does not comply with Glasgow City Council’s own policies on retail developments, quality and design, greenspace or landscape and several Scottish Executive policy notes including those on transport, retail and town centre development. The proposed density on site is totally inappropriate given that the density of the proposed student accommodation, located on top of the 24-hour store, is excessive in both height and footprint.

STOP is arguing that the traffic flow impacts of this scheme will be overwhelming. Tesco’s own traffic impact assessment is flawed. The traffic impact of the development will be substantial and the mitigation suggested will not adequately address this increase in congestion and traffic levels, and makes no assessment of the likely impact of the development to the problems of on street parking already existing in the surrounding area.

Early in March 2007, the group’s chairman has set up an e-petition on the Scottish Parliament’s website calling for the Scottish Parliament to consider and debate the traffic, environmental and sustainability impact on existing communities in designated town centres of large 24-hour supermarket developments. This can be accessed here.

There was an uproar in Glasgow when the old Partick Central Railway Station Ticket Office (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Partick_Central_railway_station) which sat on the disputed site until it was demolished by Tesco at the end of January 2007 (http://www.eveningtimes.co.uk/display.var.1156641.0.0.php) by means of a suspect building warrant issued by the Council’s building control department a few months previously to demolish other dilapidated buildings on the site. A video of the demolition can be seen on YouTube at (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EuBGju0Lvug).

The STOP group have been active in disturbing leaflet throughout Glasgow’s West End and have already organised a public meeting in December 2006. The next public meeting on this development in Partick is scheduled for 16 April 2007 (details will be posted on www.stoptesco.info).

Tesco Dirty Filthy Disgusting Fuel: Update

As predicted by one of the posters on this site, TESCO finally issued an 'apology' for their dirty fuel on Tuesday 6th March. You can read their 'apology' here however there are some interesting points within that statement that need careful scrutinisation.

For example; "Tesco petrol is now back to normal." An admission that the petrol they had been selling was abnormal. This is the same petrol that they continued to sell in the face of overwhelming evidence of a problem wherein a complete withdrawal of the fuel would have been a more appropriate step to have taken.

And then there is; "if petrol bought at Tesco has damaged your car, we'd like to say how sorry we are." Yes, we're sure you'd like to say sorry. How about actually saying sorry?

In a similar vein; "More to the point, we'd like to promise to pay for the repairs." So, you'd like to promise to pay for the repairs, but you actually haven't promised to pay for the repairs have you? Why don't you just say "we promise to pay for the repairs"? Oh no, that could be construed as a legally binding statement, you have to leave an escape route somewhere.....

"M'lud, the respondent never actually promised that he would pay for the repairs as insinuated by the applicant, merely that he would have liked to be able to offer a promise. There is a distinct variance in those statements..."

All you have said is that you feel for our situation and are offering your sympathy, when a promise of hard cash reimbursement would be much more appreciated.

But I'm sure TESCO really won't want to wheedle their way out of paying for the repairs. In the past they have never tried to avoid compensating people for their admitted liabilities. have they?

Hang on a minute! http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/england/wiltshire/6423923.stm

"Although the retailer later admitted liability, Tesco said it was only prepared to pay 25% of the cost of the repairs. "

So, TESCO admitted the fuel they supplied caused damage to a vehicle, but then state they are only prepared to pay a quarter of the repair bill? But this example is almost exactly the same as the situation that thousands of motorists now find themselves in; their vehicle has been damaged by contaminated fuel bought at TESCO. Could we see this situation repeated many times in the small claims Courts of the land? The upside of this story is that clearly the weight of the law has fallen on the side of the consumer and TESCO find themselves on the receiving end of the bailiffs. £60,000 worth of alcohol has been ringfenced and barred from sale until TESCO settles it's County Court Judgement, the enforcement order and the bailiffs fees. The depressing fact of this case is that the victim has had to wait more than three years before getting to this point....

At last, the bully has tried to push around the biggest kid in the playground and has received a bloody nose for his belligerence.

TESCO. Every seizure counts.

Thursday, March 08, 2007

Iconoclast vs Terence: Ten Paces Please!

Dear Sir Terence, I am not a violent man, nor ever have been, nor do I condone violence or intimidation in any way shape or form. I also do not like the sight of blood (particularly my own).

However, I was brought up in Derbyshire, when English men behaved like gentlemen, and the traditional way of sorting things out was not via lawyers at £300 per hour,but by a duel. (I am from a poor working class mining village).


I will be 52 years old in July, have diabetes, a heart complaint and am on medication for blood pressure, however I am quite happy to settle our dispute once and for all in a Boxing Ring to Marquis of Queensbury Rules (although I have never boxed or been taught how to fight).

My proposition is that the fight takes place in public and all proceeds go to Children in Need (Red Nose Day). The loser would renounce all their worldly material posessions and go and live in a monastery to contemplate the error of his ways until death

I am quite happy to do this, you have ruined my once beautiful country so much that I no longer wish to live in it. Your plans to build a Tesco's in my beautiful home town of Belper, Derbyshire,and ruin my one place of retreat by building a bypass into it is the final straw.

Please accept my challenge, you look a lot younger than me and could even win (I doubt it)... I have the power of honesty and truth on my side, which I have found to be invincible.

With love and looking forward to the final battle, David

Tuesday, March 06, 2007

Iconoclast David Nicolas Banned From Tesco!

A truly dark event has happened, following the iconoclast David Nicolas' wonderful film reports for Tesco-Complaint which showed Tesco's pitiful lack of customer service, our roving reporter has been banned from every Tesco store in the land (and beyond!). Gloria in excelsis deo!

David Nicolas writes: "Today, I took the computer back that I bought when filming 'Tesco's the Movie', as it was not to the described specification. Double click here for movie:-
www.youtube.com/watch?v=HNJ5JPBVWd0

For the crime of openly filming with a camera (such as can be bought in Tesco's or as is on any mobile phone), I was presented with this pre-prepared 'banning order' by the 'duty manager':

What a result.... the first iconoclast in the U.K. to be banned from every Tesco shop and store :)..... unless you know differently?

David says 'A wonderful result, I was only too pleased to do my shopping in the lovely local town of Shoreham-by-sea' where I got British food from the Co-op, Organic potatoes and fluoride free toothpaste from 'The Healing Light', a coffee at 'Angels Bar '... (and a chat with a beautiful manageress), and a hair cut at the barbers next door... Wonderful! I also bought a nice video in the Dogs Trust Charity shop (for 50p)... and best of all 'The Guardian' newspaper which has actually published some truth, which the metropolitan police and the Attorney General spent last night trying to ban :)

What a wonderful morning.... all thanks to being banned from Tesco's.

Thank you so much.

David was also reminded of the old Kenneth Williams line 'Infamy! Infamy!.... they've all got it infamy!' :) as Tesco's Security Staff spread around the car park of the Holmbush Centre to observe David re-parking and shopping in Marks and Spencers."

Fear not David for the law on trespass is on your side and if you were to enter a Tesco store and film or shop Tesco would need to do the following in order to sue you:

  1. Establish you are/were indeed David Nicolas
  2. Establish your home address or place of business
  3. Establish what damages they have suffered by your trespass (likely NIL)
There is no criminal offence of trespass and to state one can be prosecuted for trespass is an untruth at law. Don't worry David, this banning order's threats are as empty as Tesco's apologies and promises over it's filthy fuel.

The great news is David is not banned from the Cheshunt Head Office so we look forward to some lovely film footage of the Terence!

Triumph The Insult Dog, Tesco's New Head of CS?

Triumph The Insult Dog, Tesco's New Head of CS?My partner and I have received appalling treatment from some staff members of the Carrickfergus Castle store, County Antrim, NI. Tesco Customer Services department in Dundee has been ineffective in dealing with this. We have demanded a sincere, personal apology from all 3 culprits in this store. I have preserved the anonymity of the staff and I expect the same in return from Tesco if and when Sir Terry replies to me.

We have given Tesco every chance to sort this problem but their response has been completely abysmal. It is our opinion that Tesco has got so big they don’t really care. So now we have decided to spread the word about our experience. I apologise if this posting is rather long but you can see we have been led a merry dance! I have summarized the main points below:

1. 30 Dec (yes, that long ago) – a rude and surly CS assistant barked a question at me like I was a dog then stomped off like a stroppy teenager.
2. Same day – Acting Duty manager was patronizing and arrogant towards us. She leveled an unsubstantiated, very insulting accusation at us and upset my partner a great deal. We challenged her about this but didn’t receive an apology
3. 17 Jan – we received a totally inept reply from Customer Services HQ for NI, to whom we had complained. They referred the matter to the Store Manager (who was absent on 30 Dec)
4. 14-Feb – a telephone message from Carrickfergus Castle Store Manager, asking me to contact him.
5. Same day and next 3 days – I kept phoning the store, the manager had gone home early, he was off or else when I rang the phone wasn’t even answered. Next thing I heard – he was off for a week’s leave.
6. 20 Feb – I wrote to Sir Terry, asking for the matter to be resolved either by him or (in his absence) one of his immediate subordinates
7. 23 Feb – received an e-mail from a Customer Service Executive informing us he would deal with the matters
8. 26 Feb – Carrickfergus Castle Store Manager eventually phones us. It was not worth the wait. He quickly became quite aggressive, choosing to rant about one point in my complaint about which he took exception. Even after I conceded that particular point to him he carried on ranting. He even ranted at my partner when she tried to verify to him how upset she had been by the Acting Duty Manager’s comments. He glossed over our complaints and stated that the 2 culprits had denied everything. He was very rude and at no stage did he even attempt to deal with our complaint. I am convinced that the only reason he phoned was to rant at us.
9. Same day – I sent an e-mail to the same CS Executive as before, complaining about the telephone manner and behaviour of the Store Manager. I asked him to handle matters personally as I did not want any further contact with anyone from the relevant store, unless they were prepared to apologise in person.
10. 28 Feb – a bland reply received from CS Executive. He had spoken to Store Manager and stated we were not getting an apology. By now I suspected that this person was not a senior manager, he didn’t even have his own personal e-mail address!
11. Same day – I replied to CS Executive stating that he had not dealt with my complaint about the Store manager. I assured him that we would be taking matters further.

Tesco have tried to justify the long delay overall (now 59 days) by stating that the Store manager was absent for some time. It took from 17 Jan to 14 Feb before the Store Manager contacted me. That is totally unacceptable. If he was absent that length of time, Tesco should have organized someone more senior to investigate our complaint i.e. area manager

I will shortly be sending a further e-mail to Sir Terry Leahy and asking for a personal response, preferably by telephone. I won’t hold my breath. I will also be spreading the word about our experiences both nationally on another popular consumer forum (which I am told has over a million hits a day) and locally by e-mail and word of mouth. I have lived in Carrickfergus for 43 years and I know a lot of people. Bad news travels fast, especially with my foot on the accelerator!!

People reading this site may wonder why I am pursuing this but ask yourself if the person you loved was insulted and upset very much, what would you do? Also if we all let Tesco get away with appalling Customer Service, they will never change

NiteRider
Carrickfergus, County Antrim