We'd better start walking down the motorway ~ Tesco-Complaint

Monday, April 21, 2008

We'd better start walking down the motorway


Hi,
Just had a bad experience with Tesco... for the sake of 30p. This is the email we just sent them which explains it all...

Dear Sir,
My partner and I have been customers of Tesco for some years now, both instore and online, and have always felt valued and cared for as customers.
Unfortunately, that experience has come to an abrupt end!
Having placed an order online on 18.04.2008 and received a confirmation email, I was contacted by telephone this morning, Saturday 19th April 2008, to inform me that my payment was not authorised. The advisor offered to call me back within five minutes once I'd obtained my card details. She never called back.

Upon further investigation I discovered the reason for the payment not going through; although I had left £35 in my account and the order was less than £34, a £2 debit was removed from my account to verify my card details.I called customer services who transferred me to the store responsible for the delivery. The manager explained there was nothing he could do, not even remove 1 item from my shopping as there was less than £1 difference. He blamed my bank for not re-crediting the £2 in time.

This resulted in me calling my bank three times and Tesco customer services a further two times as each company blamed the other for witholding the £2 that caused my payment to fail.
As a working couple with two young children we were relying on this shopping as we can't get to the store without spending £15 on taxi fares.
This experience has left me very upset and worried as we know that we can't spend that amount of money and get the same volume of products and quality from a "convenience store " that we've always received from Tesco.
Due to this, my partner has had to come home from work earlier, sacrificing a days pay as we have no food in the property and need to get to a supermarket before we're left with no provisions for the entire weekend.

I am hoping that you will be able to give me the kind of service I've come to expect and reply to this email with any suggestions you may have regarding my situation.
I am hoping that I do not have to remove my custom in favour of another retailer.
Not holding out much hope of getting it resolved. Oh well, we'd better start walking down the motorway to the supermarket 10 miles away or our kids will starve.

33 comments:

Anonymous said...

So, you make a complaint to Tesco because you didn't have enough money in your account? Ooookay then...

Tesco Team Leader said...

Due to this, my partner has had to come home from work earlier, sacrificing a days pay as we have no food in the property and need to get to a supermarket before we're left with no provisions for the entire weekend.

umm why did he need to take a day off work to go shopping?!

99% of people manage to work and go shopping, and as most tesco's are open late i can't see the problem.

nearest supermarket 10miles away? where do you live the outer hebrides, most areas have 5 or 6 supermarkets in that kinda distance.

methinks your just a lazy fat little women used to getting her own way all the time.

geta life.

Dave said...

Dear woman who lets her kids starve

Firstly, thank you for contacting this website :)

I will now go through your letter and explain where you fail at life.

"Upon further investigation I discovered the reason for the payment not going through; although I had left £35 in my account and the order was less than £34, a £2 debit was removed from my account to verify my card details."

This is your banks and either Visa/Maestro's issue, not tesco's.

"As a working couple with two young children we were relying on this shopping as we can't get to the store without spending £15 on taxi fares."

Firstly, do you visit a store 25 miles away? Do you not drive? or are you just lazy?

"Due to this, my partner has had to come home from work earlier, sacrificing a days pay as we have no food in the property and need to get to a supermarket before we're left with no provisions for the entire weekend."

Can't you have gone after work, after all most Tesco stores are 24 hours.

"Not holding out much hope of getting it resolved. Oh well, we'd better start walking down the motorway to the supermarket 10 miles away or our kids will starve."

Why? DO YOU WANT DIRECTIONS TO ASDA THEN? If your a working couple, then surely you both work?

Seen as you have no food in your house, and your kids will starve, what about I call Social Services and have your kids taken into protective care.

I also agree with the previous two comments.

I am not enclosing any compensation because well, why should I

Sincerly,

Not a Tesco worker, but hates moaners!

Anonymous said...

If you have bought anything from Tesco that you were not happy with and did not receive the customer service support that you expected then please carry on reading.

I have come across lots of people who have bought items from Tesco and they have broken down and they have not received the support from Tesco to help them rectify the matter. I myself have had a problem with Tesco where an Item has broken down, a wall mounted TV and have been for the past couple of years trying to get it sorted with so many different promises to get the tv replaced, repaired with none of them every happening.

Tesco feel that they are a large company who do not have to worry about customer feedback or about upsetting customers as there are always other people who would go and buy there products so the people who are not happy and there are thousands of them each year, it does not matter to them as they are the biggest supermarket in the UK with the highest turnover.

The customer support I and so many other people have received has been very disgusting. What I am asking people on this forum to do is, to tell their friends about this posting and if you have had a product that you have bought from Tesco or if you have had a service from Tesco or are simply not happy about the way you have been treated by Tesco then please join others like yourself who are making their feelings known by contacting the Chief Executive office on 01707 395150 and ask for Helen and make yourself known to them about your complaint.

We will also be arranging in the new future demonstrations around the UK about the way Tesco treat customers.

Join everyone now who is not happy with Tesco and phone the Cheif Executive office and make yourself be heard and do not let this big company get away with treating their customers in this way.

Anonymous said...

Re: the final line of the message. Obviously nobody understands sarcasm. You really are a pack of idiots. You have not understood the nature of the complaint at all.
We do not drive. The problem was that we had previously ordered with Tesco with no problem. We used to be very regular customers. We order online due to the fact we both work, and it is difficult to get to a store after we have finished working. Taking kids out to a supermarket in the freezing cold at night, dragging them around a shop for a couple of hours? Don't be ridiculous.
The problem that we had was that we had an exact amount of money in the account for the online shopping bill, taking into account the delivery charges. There is no mention on the site of £2 being taken from the account to verify the card (if there is, it's not made obvious). It's certainly not been taken from us before. The point is, the charge took the account past its limit, so on the day the shopping was to be delivered... it wasn't. That was a Saturday, with no further delivery slots available til Monday. Tesco Customer Services blamed our bank, our bank blamed Tesco, and it went backwards and forwards like this over several phone calls. The customer service advisor from Tesco did not get back to us as promised. To be fair, one person we eventually spoke to seemed a bit more sympathetic, but could do nothing. We were not trying to get freebies, compensation or anything like that, and we have not asked for it. Due to our working lives, we rely on home shopping being delivered on a certain day, otherwise we're stuck. We both work throughout the week, while only one of us is home for the weekend, hence the need for the shopping to be delivered on the Saturday. When it was too late for the situation to be resolved, I had to come home from work so we could physically go shopping. I work Sundays, so it is impossible to do it then. When we have no choice but to enter a bricks-and-mortar supermarket, we both have to be there; pushing a double pram with two children and a trolley is a two-person job. Hence why we order online. It was a massive inconvenience, for which I lost a day's pay. However, I did that willingly for the sake of my family.
Whilst I wonder why people troll this blog in particular to attack people who have genuine grievances (pretty sad... why don't you go for a nice walk, or go to an owl sanctuary or something? So much more wholesome and healthy), I also have to detest their internet-courage, and wonder if they would say some of their hurtful, spiteful, schoolyard-bullying comments about my wife to my face. We were left in a rut by Tesco's inability to be honest and upfront about the way it conducts business online, and we just wanted to see if anyone else here had a similar experience. Instead, we find the place populated by twisted little losers, and if you people who commented are not Tesco employees, you have a very unhealthy obsession with the place if you want to post comments here. Even if you are Tesco employees... Jesus, get a life. You are not your job.
Now grow up, the lot of you.

Rich said...

I'd be inclined to say that the blame lies with the authorisation centre who actually decide to debit anything from your account.

I've also never heard of the £2 debit, have you received an explanation from Tesco as to why this has happened this time but never before? Or is it possible that you have never noticed the debit before?

Anonymous said...

"Anonymous said...
Re: the final line of the message. Obviously nobody understands sarcasm. You really are a pack of idiots. You have not understood the nature of the complaint at all.
We do not drive."

So prior to Supermarkets doing home delivery you never ate anything?

So your a fully grown adult who's only just enjoyed eating for the past few years?
.......................................................Do you really think people were born yesterday?

Sargent Internet said...

Thank you for your reply

"Re: the final line of the message. Obviously nobody understands sarcasm. You really are a pack of idiots. You have not understood the nature of the complaint at all."

Its not that we don't understand, more than likely we just don't care about you and your sad life.

"We do not drive. The problem was that we had previously ordered with Tesco with no problem. We used to be very regular customers. We order online due to the fact we both work, and it is difficult to get to a store after we have finished working."

Has public transport or any taxi firms not reached your part of the world yet? I never knew Tesco delivered to timbucktoo.

"Taking kids out to a supermarket in the freezing cold at night, dragging them around a shop for a couple of hours? Don't be ridiculous."

We are not being ridiculous, Can one of you just stay at home with the kids and the other go shopping?

"The problem that we had was that we had an exact amount of money in the account for the online shopping bill, taking into account the delivery charges. There is no mention on the site of £2 being taken from the account to verify the card (if there is, it's not made obvious). It's certainly not been taken from us before. The point is, the charge took the account past its limit, so on the day the shopping was to be delivered... it wasn't. That was a Saturday, with no further delivery slots available til Monday."

Not the internets, my, tescos/your banks anyone but your own fault you did not have enough money, IT IS NOT TESCO MAKING AN AUTHORISATION HOLD IT IS WORLD PAY WHICH IS RBS. Should you really run that low on food with kids?

"Tesco Customer Services blamed our bank, our bank blamed Tesco, and it went backwards and forwards like this over several phone calls."

It was acutally WorldPays/RBS and your banks fault, NOT Tescos. Get it right

"We were not trying to get freebies, compensation or anything like that, and we have not asked for it. "

Yeah ok We believe you

"We both work throughout the week, while only one of us is home for the weekend, hence the need for the shopping to be delivered on the Saturday"

Thats nice let me find someone on the internet who cares

"When we have no choice but to enter a bricks-and-mortar supermarket, we both have to be there; pushing a double pram with two children and a trolley is a two-person job. Hence why we order online. It was a massive inconvenience, for which I lost a day's pay. However, I did that willingly for the sake of my family."

Why did both of you have to be there? Can one of you just go shopping and the other stay at home? You lost a days pay awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww The internet cares for you, many others don't. and if you loved your family you would have more food in your house.

"Whilst I wonder why people troll this blog in particular to attack people who have genuine grievances (pretty sad... why don't you go for a nice walk, or go to an owl sanctuary or something? So much more wholesome and healthy), "

Firstly the internet does not welcome these comments, the internet wonders why they let people like you access to a computer, The internet does not welcome you, We are also barred from the owl place.

" I also have to detest their internet-courage, and wonder if they would say some of their hurtful, spiteful, schoolyard-bullying comments about my wife to my face."

The internet population will say them to your face, please name a time and a place and we will be there.,

"We were left in a rut by Tesco's inability to be honest and upfront about the way it conducts business online, and we just wanted to see if anyone else here had a similar experience."

As clearly stated it is not tesco's fault but yours, your banks and worldpays (RBS) fault, also it is stated the internet does not care about you.

"Instead, we find the place populated by twisted little losers, and if you people who commented are not Tesco employees, you have a very unhealthy obsession with the place if you want to post comments here. Even if you are Tesco employees... Jesus, get a life. You are not your job.
Now grow up, the lot of you."

This must apply to you aswell, You should really log off the internet and possibly life

The previous internet respondants have summed it up pretty well.

We are not going to enclose ANY compensation because well you and your fat annoying wife don't deserve any.

Kindest of regards

The internet

Anonymous said...

Want a place and time do you sunshine?
Magor Services, 5pm, 5th May (Bank Holiday Monday).

If you don't turn up, then it just goes to prove my point.

Anonymous said...

Right, I sat and waited for a whole hour at the service station, and not one person turned up. I had a VERY large sign in my window saying "Tesco-Complaint.blogspot.com" and I was parked right at the entrance. You would not have missed me.

I won't stand for any more abuse, as it just goes to show what "keyboard warriors" you all are!

tesco-complaint said...

Not taking anyone's side here but this is where you went wrong:

You needed a sign saying "the internet" since you were awaiting such party.

Better luck next time!

PS Dont suppose you have any pictorial proof of your waiting at said location? (no of course not...)

Anonymous said...

I hadn't considered that Tesco-Complaint! I do hope your not taking "The Internet"'s side as I am completely anti-Tesco!

I didn't think to take a photograph, although there would be CCTV of me sat there waiting, I did help myself to a Burger King whilst waiting but I wasn't given a recipt :( I do still have the sign which was displayed in my car, although a photograph of that alone won't prove a thing; and one of it in my car wouldn't be any better as I could drive to any carpark, set the date on my camera and take the picture. So you'll just have to take my word for it, but I assure you I was most certainly there, it is not a massive distance for me to travel so I made sure I was there to see if any of these "keyboard warriors" showed up.

As it happens I just enjoyed an hour of peace and quiet and a rather nice Angus burger!

Anonymous said...

So no proof you were there hey sunshine? Plus you gave the internet very short notice of the doo-al. You foo-al.

Sgt. Internet said...

Dear Moaner

Thank you for your reply dated 4th May.

This is an internet press release.

The internet did indeed turn up to the service station and waited, We thought you had not bothered. (Were you that guy with the two annoying kids and the fat annoying woman or was that the Butlins Coach trip - We digress).

The great internet council have discussed this and have got a few problems with what you say. In your original complaint and replies you state that you nor your wife drove, so The Internet would like to know how you actually got there? Did you indeed "twoc" (took without consent) a car, Joyride down the motorway and then wait for us? Should I be phoning the police as well as social services?

The CCTV will only prove you stole a car, also if you was really there what brand of fuel do they sell? The internet would like to know.

The internet does indeed welcome all the comments that support we have received (Please do not think we love tesco, we just hate moaners)

The internet has therefor no choice to banish you from the internet. Please call your ISP cancel your account then go to oxfam and give them your computer, Someone might aswell use it who won't moan.

We have not included any compensation and the internet requests for the good of man kind you do not reply.

Kindest of all Regards
Sargent internet

Anonymous said...

What bullshit of the highest order!! AS much as i dislike Tesco, it isnt their fault. When you attempt to pay for something with Tesco be it online or instore. Tesco contact the bank and ask if payment can be taken, if the bank authorises it, then good. all done, but if the bank say no, they will message this to tesco who will relay that onto you.

Anonymous said...

Personally, I think that Tesco's would be doing us all a favour if the paid the 2 quid to keep these moaning bloaters out of a store. Who want's the scenario "we both have to be there; pushing a double pram with two children and a trolley is a two-person job. Hence why we order online" Yeah. and the kids bawling that their piggy bank is £15 quid lighter ETC ETC.

Sargent Internet said...

Anonymous said...
What bullshit of the highest order!! AS much as i dislike Tesco, it isnt their fault. When you attempt to pay for something with Tesco be it online or instore. Tesco contact the bank and ask if payment can be taken, if the bank authorises it, then good. all done, but if the bank say no, they will message this to tesco who will relay that onto you.

8:58 AM, May 09, 2008


Anonymous said...
Personally, I think that Tesco's would be doing us all a favour if the paid the 2 quid to keep these moaning bloaters out of a store. Who want's the scenario "we both have to be there; pushing a double pram with two children and a trolley is a two-person job. Hence why we order online" Yeah. and the kids bawling that their piggy bank is £15 quid lighter ETC ETC.

1:30 PM, May 09, 2008

The internet welcomes you, We would give medals (if you wasnt annoymous)

This is the quality the internet needs.

Should we start a fund to raise the £2?

Anonymous said...

"Tesco feel that they are a large company who do not have to worry about customer feedback"
this just shows your a complete half wit.

do you honestly think tesco has gotten to the size it is by not listening to customer? By trying to piss everyone off?

the fact of the matter is that everyone who uses this site as a place to moan has no sense. things happen sometimes, things go wrong, customers, make mistakes, staff make mistakes, the business makes mistakes but that's fucking life.

you lot of moaning tossers with no life should realize that tesco cannot adn will not wipe your arses for you.

Sargent Internet said...

Anonymous said...
"Tesco feel that they are a large company who do not have to worry about customer feedback"
this just shows your a complete half wit.

do you honestly think tesco has gotten to the size it is by not listening to customer? By trying to piss everyone off?

the fact of the matter is that everyone who uses this site as a place to moan has no sense. things happen sometimes, things go wrong, customers, make mistakes, staff make mistakes, the business makes mistakes but that's fucking life.

you lot of moaning tossers with no life should realize that tesco cannot adn will not wipe your arses for you.


5:06 PM, May 11, 2008

You sir are now an internet legend, The internet wants more of people like you

Keep it up :)

Anonymous said...

Serge Gainsbourg
Sea sex and sun!
Check it out and you'll find its really terry;-)

Anonymous said...

Heres the song!
think of terry
http://www.sendspace.com/file/f4iivb

pcsolotto said...

Nice blog. Thats all.

TescoHomeShopper said...

as a tesco homeshopping worker I would like to comment on this debacle, HA HA

Anonymous said...

Hi all,

As this is old news now, I'm going to add my two cents to the debacle.

This website appears to be a place where someone who has had a tough time with this particular chain can communicate with other people who have had a tough time. Why are you hurling abuse at someone who, like so many people in the UK at the moment, is living from pay-cheque to pay-cheque, and is trying to use a supermarket whilst (a) ensuring that there is some choice from all sides of the family and (b) not taking children to a supermarket. I used to work in a supermarket, and, with no disrespect intended, used to go home every day with a headache from the screaming children, getting themselves lost etc etc etc.

With regards the payment issue, this is a problem with the authorisation process. A 'test' charge is applied to the card to say that, yes, this card is valid and has not been reported lost/stolen. If this test charge is not reversed, then it will affect the future of any transactions that go through. Tesco's could have been a little more sympathetic and *phoned their payment provider to remove the pre-authorisation*. This takes less than a minute on the phone and should be available with all payment solution providers.

I do hope that the poster of the original comment, plus their partner, aren't put off permanently from posting comments on the Internet, which is a rich source of life-opinion, breathing space and general fun.

David

tescohomeshopper said...

To make a genuine comment unlike my last "HA HA". I do work for tesco homeshopping and I have come across this problem with a customer. I had never heard about the £2 charge before, neither had my homeshopping manager, the duty manager of the day or even the shop manager. We did not know we could ring the so called payment provider as we believed this was a banking fault and nothing to do with us. Maybe this is through a lack of proper training within Tesco but that applies to all aspects of work within the company, the standard of valid and sensible training is zero. I firmly believe it is a rather stupid action to order goods when you do not have sufficient money to cover eventualities like dearer substitutions for unavailable products, you should have realized this seeing as you were a regular customer. As a reasonable person I do sympathize with your problem but you should have had more money available in your account or ordered less products.

Anonymous said...

Hi all,

People who work for Tesco are not your slaves and they deserve some damn respect from customers. Tesco are not at all responsible for the £2.00 charge and come on lets be honest 2 workers, with 2 children and only £35.00 in your bank - you should be ashamed of yourself.
Have you got nothing better to do with your time than complain about petty and pathetic things.
If you ask me you need to get a life!!!!!

From a Tesco Worker that really hates moaning, whining customers who think they are the be all and end all!!! GET A DAMN GRIP!!!

Anonymous said...

How funny.

This man is punked

Havealife said...

Ask not what Tesco can do for you,but what you can do for Tesco.

On the other hand it is always someone else's fault when things go wrong. How on earth can you have only £35 in you bank unless you are 10 years old or a student?

Anonymous said...

i just had to comment on this 'complaint'. As a single parent to a little boy i had to go into hospital for an operation, after which i had to stay in hospital unexpectedly due to complications.
when i arrived home i found that a lot of my fresh food had expired. i still managed to WALK to the shop which was more than 7 miles away and buy enough food for my son and myself to have a healthy meal for the next few days until i was fully recovered.
i have never left my fridge or cupboards so empty so that if my shopping didnt arrive on time my child would 'starve'.
i have also never had to take so much as an hour off from my full time job to go to tescos.
if a single parent can do this then why can't a 2 parent couple??
it's silly to complain so much about this.

Anonymous said...

i work and have to pay for my food so should you

Anonymous said...

you two wanna sort your life out

Anonymous said...

Because your broke and cant manage your life thats tescos fault? get a job and be responsible and shut up.

Anonymous said...

Also that picture you have posted of the empty fridge - try google "empty fridge" and gues what comes up